Engineering geology
Hardness scales

Hardness scales

One of the most useful diagnostic properties is hardness, a measure of the resistance of a mineral to abrasion or scratching. This property is determined by rubbing a mineral of unknown hardness against one of known hardness or vice versa.

A numerical value of hardness can be obtained by using the Mohs scale of hardness, which consists of 10 minerals arranged in order from 1 (softest) to 10 (hardest), as shown in Figure A.

It should be noted that the Mohs scale is a relative ranking and does not imply that a mineral with a hardness of 2, such as gypsum, is twice as hard as a mineral with a hardness of 1, like talc. In fact, gypsum is only slightly harder than talc, as Figure B indicates.

In the laboratory, common objects used to determine the hardness of a mineral can include a human fingernail, which has a hardness of about 2.5, a copper penny (3.5), and a piece of glass (5.5). The mineral gypsum, which has a hardness of 2, can be easily scratched with a fingernail.
On the other hand, the mineral calcite, which has a hardness of 3, will scratch a fingernail but will not scratch glass. Quartz, one of the hardest common minerals, will easily scratch glass. Diamonds, hardest of all, scratch anything, including other diamonds.

One thought on “Hardness scales

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: